Soul Sisters Do Bangkok

I firmly believe that people come into our lives for a reason. And somehow they come into my life at exactly the right times. As I was getting on my flight from Taiwan to Bangkok there was a girl in front of me with a “GirlsLoveTravel.org” backpack on , and I really wanted to talk to her about that organization, but was too shy. As I sat on the plane kicking myself for not saying anything, I realized she was actually sitting next to the woman next to me. I knew I needed to introduce myself, and learn her story. And I am so glad I did!

img_9356Maddie is from Seattle, Washington, and she is out here on a “soulcation” as well, although she plans on creating a life out here after traveling a bit. We hit it off right away, and although didn’t spend the first couple days together, we met up this weekend to shop, walk, eat, and do all the touristy activities together. I felt like we had known each other for years, and we just worked so well together. Its hard to believe I felt such a deep and honest connection with someone just after a couple days.  We had the best time sharing stories, sharing our past, sharing happy times and vulnerable times, and a couple bottles of wine over the last few days.  We shopped, and of course ate lots of street food, found an amazing beach bar in Khaosan, got facials and fish spa treatments, travelled far to Damnoen Saduak (one of the largest floating market near Bangkok), walked through Chatuchak-the enormous weekend market here in Bangkok, which was nothing like I expected, rode a Tuk Tuk, and had a hostel sleepover.img_9326

img_9237

fullsizerender

fullsizerender

fullsizerender-4

 

img_9225

img_9247

img_9254

img_9256

img_9251

img_9349

img_9461

img_9352I  stood by her while she shopped for elephant pants, and Maddie sat by me while I got experimental with my food choices.  Although…that was my last time eating raw shrimp off the street.  The crispy fish pieces were too much for me to handle.img_9217

img_9236

fullsizerender-3We indulged in lots of vegetables, fruit, spring rolls, curry, and of course our favorite beverage! I’ve been on the hunt to find the best Som Tum-papaya salad, but nothing beats the one I had the very first night I was here.fullsizerender

img_9378

fullsizerender-2

img_9380

img_9359

fullsizerender

img_9218And spent a decent amount of time at one of my favorite spots in old district, Madame Musur.

img_9211Today I start a group trip called Ultimate Thailand, and it’s the one and only group trip I plan on doing while over here in SEA, but I thought it would be a great way to start this journey.  It’s geared towards 18-35 year olds, and we start in Bangkok with a temple tour and then head south to Khao Sok, and finish in the islands with the Full Moon Party in Koh Phangan.  I checked into my guesthouse this morning, and I realize that I have been so fortunate and a bit spoiled this past week.  I know everything is about to change, but I couldn’t be happier to have these experiences I’ve had so far.img_9373Maddie is such a lovely person who is beautiful inside and out, and open and honest and kind, and such an inspiration to me in so many ways.  I was very sad to leave her this morning, but I know deep down in my heart she is one of my great friends now and we will never actually be apart.  I will meet up with her again along the way, and we will always have each other no matter what.

I’ve enjoyed Bangkok, but I’m so ready to get out and see new cities.  The King’s passing has really increased traffic in this area, and even though it has been extremely eye opening, it has been difficult to get around and see everything I want to.  Every day 30-50,000 people come together around the Sanam Luang Park to honor the King.  img_9451

img_9445

img_9386I set out to see it all by foot this morning, and got stuck in massive crowds and then in a downpour.  I took myself back to Khaosan Road for some spicy Tom Yum Goong, which totally hit the spot.  img_9455

img_9453

img_9459Thank you Maddie for being such a great friend and sharing your time with me.

~Lauren

One thought on “Soul Sisters Do Bangkok

  1. Greying Traveller says:

    I’ve never come across the term “soulcation” before, but reflecting on it, it feels like a good fit for framing my upcoming travels in South East Asia. Some restoration time for the mind, body and soul. Love your pictures of various dishes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

