Unforgettable Days

I can’t believe the day is finally here.  I packed up my entire apartment last week, put all my things in storage, finished my last day of work on Friday, and now I am about to take off on the trip of a lifetime, or at least I hope it is.

img_0012

As I am sitting at the airport enjoying a quick dinner, and glass of wine-obviously,  before I leave, I can’t say I’m filled with a ton of emotion.  I’ve been feeling ALL the emotions for the last 2 months, and gosh darn it I just want to get there already!!

img_0014

I’ve been on the farewell tour for about a month now, and I’ve been blessed with an outpouring of love and support and gifts and attention including people I haven’t talked to in years, and friends of friends of friends who have reached out with advice and recommendations.  It is truly a wonderful feeling.  And I hope it’s something that I will always hold on to and remember. I’ve always known I’ve had great friends and an absolutely amazing family, but I am so grateful to have such amazing human beings in my life. I’ve been very fortunate to build relationships with such kind, generous, loving people.

…Insert flight to JFK here…

It was a breeze getting through security at Dulles, but navigating through JFK was all new to me.  Much busier on this Halloween night than Dulles.

img_0015

But I made it through with 3 hours to spare.  Plenty of time to blog, drink martini’s and read lonely planet.  Airport food and drinks are SO expensive!!!  I’ve always known this, but my goodness..$17 for a glass of shitty Chardonnay? NO thank you!!!

img_0016

It still feels so surreal that this is happening.  I am literally just going through the motions, and I think it will hit me when I arrive.  I know I am capable of figuring it out,  I have faith, but like I’ve said in earlier posts..this is the first time Ive done so much on my own.  I’m proving to myself I can do it.  At times so passé now that it’s totally typical for a basic b**** like myself (and i say that in the kindest way) travels to South East Asia, but this is all for me.  And I don’t care about anyone else or what anyone else thinks. I’ve uprooted my life to make a change, not sure what the future holds, but I’m so ready!

I can’t say this enough, but I am so thankful for all the wonderful support and love I’ve received in person and over social meda.  It really feels good.  It really makes me want to be a better person-friend, sister, daughter, Aunt.  I am going to do my best to keep this blog up, and I hope that you keep following along to see my adventures, growth, and journey to new beginnings. Don’t wish for more vacation days, but for more unforgettable days…

img_0017

 

See you in Bangkok!

~Lauren

3 thoughts on “Unforgettable Days

  1. J says:

    You are a beautiful soul and an inspiration. You are going to have the most amazing time and I look forward to keeping up with your journey. Love love love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

